The Five Feeling Constellations

How do you know if you are stuck in a feeling block or an emotional stronghold? Think about your feelings. Are there any repetitive feelings? Are there feelings you can’t express, no matter what? Are certain feelings “too big” for a current situation? Are you able to rationally decide how to respond to a feeling, or does it get the better of you? Do you feel dead to your feelings, or like you are always over-emotional? If you answer “yes” to any of these questions, you have might have a feeling block. You must “work through your feelings,” or feel them so that you can understand what they are trying to tell you.

In order to work through feelings, we have to recognize them. There are really only five basic constellations or families of feelings. These are:
• Fear
• Anger
• Joy
• Sadness
• Disgust

Each of these feeling constellations expresses a message for the body. If you accept and are willing to understand what your feelings are telling you, they can also speak for your spirit. They can alert you intuitively to the bigger picture and help you respond to the people, events, and opportunities around you. For instance, a spiritualized feeling of fear might prompt you to yell but only at an appropriate time, such as when a mugger is attacking and you need to scare him off. Not only do spiritualized feelings fuel your spiritual purpose, but they also enable you to receive true spiritual guidance and discern motives in others.

On the other hand, feelings can be distorted and harm us. This occurs when we distort one of the five basic feelings through judgment of the feeling. Distorted feelings make us act in inappropriate ways, and usually make us hate ourselves.

All content copyright Cyndi Dale